Utah Football’s Terrell Burgess, Skiing’s Guro Jordheim win Pac-12 Hansen Medal

first_img FacebookTwitterLinkedInEmailSAN FRANCISCO – Utah senior football player Terrell Burgess and senior skier Guro Jordheim have been selected as Utah’s recipients of the 2019-20 Pac-12 Tom Hansen Conference Medal. The Tom Hansen Conference Medal is awarded annually to each member institution’s outstanding senior male and female student-athlete based on the exhibition of the greatest combination of performance and achievement in scholarship, athletics and leadership.Burgess earned honorable mention All-Pac-12 honors as a senior. He was third on the team and led the backfield with 81 tackles (7.5 TFL, 0.5 sack). Burgess finished second on the team with two fumble recoveries, which tied for fourth in the Pac-12. He played in 45 career games for the Utes with 17 starts, recording nine career pass breakups with one interception. Burgess was selected in the third round (104th overall) of the 2020 NFL Draft by the L.A. Rams.Burgess received his degree in kinesiology. He was heavily involved in Utah’s Student Athlete Advisory Committee and has a history of volunteer work with special needs students, including making school visits as well as arranging tours of the Utah football facility and attendance at games.Jordheim was the 2020 USCSCA women’s Nordic Skier of the Year, a two-time RMISA women’s Nordic Athlete of the Year, two-time league MVP and four-time first-team All-RMISA. She finished third in the 5-km freestyle at the 2020 NCAA Championships finished her career with seven All-America honors, missing the chance to compete for a career maximum eight after the remainder of the championships were cancelled. Jordheim finishes her Utah career with 17 career race wins and 29 career podium finishes, leading the Utes to two NCAA titles (2017, 2019).Jordheim graduated from Utah with a degree in mathematics.Both Burgess and Jordheim are members of the inaugural Ute Academy graduating class, a program designed to enhance the personal growth and development of student-athletes through community service, leadership, professional advancement and personal well-being.Burgess is the fourth football player selected for the award, joining Derrick Shelby (2012), Hunter Dimick (2017) and Chase Hansen (2019). Jordheim is the second women’s skier selected after Maria Graefnings was named in Utah’s first year in the league (2012).Conference medal winners have been named every year since 1960-61. In 2009, the Pac-12 renamed the award the Tom Hansen Conference Medal in honor of Hansen, who retired in June of 2009 after serving for 26 years as commissioner of the Pac-10.Utah’s Pac-12 Tom Hansen Conference Medal recipients:2012: Derrick Shelby (football), Maria Graefnings (skiing)2013: Miles Havlick (skiing), Rachel Messer (women’s basketball)2014: Ben Tasevac (men’s tennis), Mary Beth Lofgren (gymnastics)2015: Delon Wright (men’s basketball), Georgia Dabritz (gymnastics)2016: Brandon Taylor (men’s basketball), Breanna Hughes (gymnastics)2017: Hunter Dimick (football), Hannah Flippen (softball)2018: Martin Bergström (skiing), Maddy Stover (gymnastics)2019: Chase Hansen (football), Kari Lee (gymnastics)2020: Terrell Burgess (football), Guro Jordheim (skiing) Tags: Guro Jordheim/Pac-12/Pac-12 Tom Hansen Conference Medal/Terrell Burgess/Utah Utes Football/Utah Utes Skiing June 11, 2020 /Sports News – Local Utah Football’s Terrell Burgess, Skiing’s Guro Jordheim win Pac-12 Hansen Medal Written by Robert Lovelllast_img read more

Read More »